## Series Solutions of Linear ODEs

Consider the standard form of the  $2^{nd}$  order, linear, ordinary differential equation:

$$1y'' + P(z)y' + Q(z)y = 0$$
 (1)

(Note the coefficient 1 in front of the second derivative term. Warning: Use this form to classify the singularities, but clear denominators in P(z) and Q(z) before trying a series solution.)

**Theorem:** The solution to equation (1) can only have singularities where the coefficients P(z) and Q(z) have singularities.

If P(z) has a pole of order m and Q(z) has a pole of order n, then equation (1) can be rewritten:

$$1y'' + z^{-m}(p_0 + p_1 z + \dots)y' + z^{-n}(q_0 + q_1 z + \dots)y = 0 \quad (2)$$

**Definition:** If  $m \leq 1$ ,  $n \leq 2$  at a singularity  $z_0$ , then  $z_0$  is called a *regular singularity* or *regular singular point*.

**Theorem:** If  $z_0$  is a *regular singular point*, then then a series solution of equation (1) expanded around  $z_0$  consists of either:

- 1. two Frobenius series,
- 2. one Frobenius series  $y_1(z-z_0)$  and a second solution  $y_2(z-z_0) = y_1(z-z)) \ln(z-z_0) + y_0(z-z_0)$  where  $y_0(z-z_0)$  is a second Frobenius series.